There are two ways to cancel an event in Slack. Before you proceed, it's important to note that each channel in Slack has it's own calendar. You can choose to remove an event from a channel without canceling the event (more details below).
Option 1: You are the event creator
If you created the event, there's a simple way to cancel your event. In any channel, type "/events mine" to view a list of the events you've created. Click the Details button next to the event you'd like to cancel and then click "Cancel" button. This will immediately cancel the event and remove it from every channel it has been shared to. Only the event creator has the ability to remove the event from all channels.
Option 2: You are not the event creator
If you'd like to cancel an event, but are not the creator first find the event you'd like to remove. The easiest way to do that is type "/events" in the channel to see all the events posted. When you find the event, click "Details" to reveal additional options. Next, you'll want to click the "Remove" button.
This will bring up a confirmation screen asking if you are certain you want to remove this event. Once an event is removed, it will generated a notification in the channel letting folks know you've removed the event. If the event is removed from every channel then it will be canceled.
What does it mean when an event is cancelled?
Well, four major things happen once an event has been cancelled:
- All the event actions will be locked. This means folks cannot RSVP, edit, or invite others once an event is cancelled. The buttons will remain visible in the chat log, but Eventbot will send you a polite error message if clicked.
- The event will be removed from any external calendars applications. Eventbot will remove the event from Google, Outlook, or other application you are sending events to.
- Reminders for the event will no longer be sent. Once an event is canceled, Eventbot will also cancel the in-channel notification and everyone's personal DM reminders.
- We'll send out notifications to people who RSVP'd. If you cancel the event before it begins, we'll notify the people who said they were interested in the event.
What if I mistakenly cancel an event!?
Don't worry, we know mistakes happen. Once you click "Remove" and successfully cancel an event, we'll give you 15 minutes to restore the event. This means we won't sent the notifications to participants until that 15 minutes has elapsed. However, if the event start time is 15 minutes away (or less), then you'll have only 1 minute to restore the event, before it becomes locked and notifications are sent.
I want to delete an event posted to my Slack channel
Using the above directions you can cancel an event (closing that event to others). However it's important to note that previous messages that Eventbot posted about that event will not be changed. If you scrub the event entirely from the record of your Slack channel an Admin can simply delete the message.