Eventbot does not spam your users
When you install Eventbot to your workspace, it's available in every public channel. However, it sits quietly waiting for someone to create event. We don't message anyone in your workspace, unless they've interacted with an event.
Will everyone be able to see my event?
Eventbot can create events in public and private channels. When you create an event, it is posted to the channel it was created in. Nobody outside that channel can see the event. Please be aware that creating an event in a public channel means everyone in that channel can see it.
Who gets notification about my event?
Eventbot does not blast out notifications to your whole workspace. We try to be more careful and only send out notifications in two ways:
1) Notifications get sent to people who RSVP'ed for an event.
2) Notifications are posted to the channel where the event is present.
This means, if you create an event in a private channel, then only the channel and the participants will get a notification. The event is not visible to anyone beyond the channel and RSVP.
What permissions does Eventbot need?
When you install Eventbot, we request the least amount of permissions necessary to deliver the team calendar. Privacy is very important to us, so you'll see the follow scopes requested (below). Some folks are worried about "Access your workspace's profile information", but we need this to determine your current timezone, and store basic information about your workspace (# of channels, # of users, for example). Outside of the installer, we don't store any user email addresses.